A promise is a promise

Hello readers! I pray that you all are doing well! I am finally done with my finals for the semester and while I have a slight break, I wanted to share something that’s been on my heart for a minute.

So for the past few months, I have been super tired, cranky, and a lot of days when I finish class, I just want to go home and go to bed. I think this is pretty normal for college students, especially when you start adding jobs, midterms, organizations, personal time, and Jesus time to all of that. Everyday is starting to feel like a constant struggle and I believe Satan is personally attacking me. A friend of mine told me that, when God does or is getting ready to do something great in your life, that is when life seems to fall apart. {Boy! Isn’t that the truth!}. Nevertheless, I have had several great things happen in my life as well over the past few weeks.

With that being said, even I have had a fair share of letdowns and disappointments with some blessings sprinkled in betweenst that. But even after it is all said and done, God has still kept His promises to me. Merriam-Webster defines a promise as “a declaration or assurance that one will do a particular thing or that a particular thing will happen.” When God makes a promise, we as His children do not have to worry about whether or not He is going to do what he says. Numbers 23:19 says, God is not human, that he should lie, not a human being, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill? We as people should never have to worry about God not fulfilling a promise to us because He’s God, not somebody who has let us down in the past. 

WIth that being said, after I came back from my mission trip, I went to a Women’s Day brunch with a friend of mine. After we finished eating we played a game where everyone had to tie a balloon around their ankle, but the goal is for us to pop somebody else’s balloon and take the promise that was in the balloon. My promise came from Matthew 11:28 & 29: I will give you rest. All the burdens you are carrying lay them at my feet and you must refuse to pick them back up again, allow yourself to rest. Now at that particular time, that scripture really resonated with me and I started to feel some sense of peace. I had literally been running around since January, I still am today, I was traveling to different cities, states, events, I had my school and lifegroup obligations, and not to mention my own personal crises. I was passed tired and some days I still am, but after reading that scripture and hearing the other promises that were read that day, I felt better. Once I prayed and asked God to give me some rest {not sleep, but rest} He answered my prayer. Even when I asked God to help me find another job, because I didn’t like the one I was at, He helped me find a new one in a matter of days, because His word says in Matthew 17:20 …The simple truth is that if you had a mere kernel of faith, a poppy seed, say, you would tell this mountain, ‘Move!’ and it would move. There is nothing you wouldn’t be able to tackle. Y’all that is a promise!

I said all of that to say, God always keeps his promises to us. Point blank period. Even when we are too tired to function or too stubborn to listen He always comes through.

My prayer is that you will stay encouraged even when you feel discouraged and beat down. One of my favorite scriptures is 2 Corinthians 4:8-12:  We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair;  persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies.  For we who live are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh. So death is at work in us, but life in you. I also pray that you all will continue to seek God’s promises for your life. The entire Bible is a promise and their are specific scriptures that deal with exactly what you’re going through. God is just waiting on us to do our part (read it), so He can do His. However, even when we don’t want to read or in some cases don’t, He is still holding up His end. 

Thanks for taking the time to read my post! I promise that I will write more over the summer, while I am on my break!

~Love Autrela

And because of his glory and excellence, he has given us great and precious promises. These are the promises that enable you to share his divine nature and escape the world’s corruption caused by human desires.

2 Peter 1:4

1 thought on “A promise is a promise”

Leave a Reply

