Mission trip chronicles pt 3!

Hey everyone! I definitely owe you all a post about the last two days of my trip lol. Thank you all for being patient with me in waiting for this last story about  my Mission trip. The last two days in Tallahassee flew by.  On Thursday, we did the contact table coffee cart again, we were a lot more successful with that the second time around. We walked around the campus for a couple hours looking for people who hadn’t heard about Chi Alpha yet, to my surprise a lot of our hard work had paid off. Most people we approached had heard about it and received a flier earlier in the week or had talked to one of us about it. The FSU students were also more friendly that day.

That evening, we got the chance to attend another worship service. I was super excited about this one because this was the FAMU service I had been hearing about all week. The church was a couple minutes away from the FSU campus on a not so nice side of Tallahassee lol. Nonetheless, it was a very nice building and it really gave off the hippie, non-traditional Christian vibe (my kind of church). The praise and worship was on fleek and so was the word that night. The youth pastor, Caden, talked about God being our security, overflow, and a provider and He always keeps His promises. Another thing he talked about was being a service to others. Even when we {as people} feel like we do not have much to offer, we can always use our times and talents to help somebody. That was right on time for the way I had felt that week.

After the service, I got the chance to talk to Cassie, one of the ladies on staff with FSU Chi Alpha. I asked about being her intern at FAMU one day. We also got a chance to share about our lives and really just encourage each other on our current journeys. She told me to listen to the Holy Spirit and go and do whatever it tells me. I thoroughly enjoyed that talk with her.

On our last day in Tally, we did a prayer walk on the FAMU campus. As soon as we stepped foot on the campus, I was like yeah I want to go to school here for my Masters Degree. Looking at the campus, I was sad because you could clearly tell which school got more funding. However, that rant is for a different blog post. During our prayer walk we were asked to pray about several different things while simultaneously receiving a tour of the campus. I think that prayer walk made a difference on that campus that day. I am not sure who saw us or even heard us, but I know that the spirit of God was there when we left. I felt so empowered and I really wanted to stay longer and pray for the campus more. Even now that I am back in Columbus, I am still praying and asking God if I should go back to Tallahassee and give my year their as a campus missionary, because I really felt something when I was down there.

I apologize that this post may be a little short, it has been a month since my trip and I should have been writing these posts more frequently. However, my prayer for those of you reading is that you turn to God and listen to what he has to say. He literally has something for you, regarding everything in your life, whether it’s school, work, missions, friends, organizations, etc. God already has a plan for your life. He is just waiting on you to be obedient and faithful to His word so He can show you. Also, don’t forgot that we can always be a service. God gave us all talents, if you don’t know what yours is, ASK HIM! If you don’t get an answer right away, BE PATIENT! God gave us all a talent and He always gives us opportunities to use those talents and serve. Lastly, be encouraged young people especially those of you in college. God has not forgotten about you, continue to be faithful and trust in His word. Let this scripture below bea confession. I love you all and thank you for reading!

~ Love Autrela

How can a young person live a clean life? By carefully reading the map of your Word.  I’m single-minded in pursuit of you; don’t let me miss the road signs you’ve posted.  I’ve banked your promises in the vault of my heart so I won’t sin myself bankrupt.  Be blessed, God; train me in your ways of wise living.  I’ll transfer to my lips all the counsel that comes from your mouth;  I delight far more in what you tell me about living than in gathering a pile of riches. I ponder every morsel of wisdom from you, I attentively watch how you’ve done it.  I relish everything you’ve told me of life, I won’t forget a word of it.  Be generous with me and I’ll live a full life; not for a minute will I take my eyes off your road.  Open my eyes so I can see what you show me of your miracle-wonders.  I’m a stranger in these parts; give me clear directions. My soul is starved and hungry, ravenous! – insatiable for your nourishing commands.  And those who think they know so much, ignoring everything you tell them – let them have it!

~Psalm 119:9-21
2 thoughts on “Mission trip chronicles pt 3!”

Leave a Reply

