Mission trip chronicles pt 2

Hello friends and readers! I trust that you all have had a great week. I know for me, this week flew by and I feel like I was just in Florida. Any who, I want to pick back up where I left off with my story from last week.

So Tuesday, was not an easier day than Monday. I woke up feeling like I hadn’t slept at all and I just woke up really cranky. That day, we all mainly focused on 2 by 2 evangelism and really tried to encourage students to come out to the Tuesday Night Worship service. Well after being outside for the most of the day promoting for Chi Alpha, we finally got to rest and enjoy the worship service.

I am not sure what happened from the time we help set up and when the actual service started, but all of a sudden I was super exhausted, cranky, and frustrated. I was really sad that all the work we had all done the past two days, all the rejections we had, and all the conversations we had were in vain. Only one new person had came out that night for the service and my feelings were really hurt. At that point I just wanted to go back to Columbus and call it quits. BUT I couldn’t go home I was stuck in Florida until Friday. Nonetheless, Anthony, the campus pastor, talked about Nehemiah chapter 4 and gave us some encouragement.

In this chapter, Nehemiah and a group of Jews were rebuilding the wall of Jerusalem because God asked them too. On one hand we have a man named Sanballat who is ridiculing and making fun of the Jews for doing this. On the other hand is Tobiah, Sanballat’s associate, he too makes jokes about the Jews. Sanballat represents all of the people you would expect to not support you doing the work of God {non-believers, and enemies}. Tobiah represents the people you would normally associate as a friend. That story really hit home for me that night. I know for me, I can shake off  and get over whenever someone I don’t know or is not a Christian makes fun or ridicules me because I want to follow God’s will, but it’s something about when a friend, family member, or even a Christian looks at me differently. That really hurts and Tuesday night I left the service frustrated because I felt like I did not have a lot of support from my “Tobiahs.”

However, I was not supposed to leave that night feeling discouraged or frustrated and I tried to keep telling myself that, yet, I still felt the same.  Wednesday arrives and I swear I am even more irritable and just angry and I had to sit for a minute and really ask myself why was I upset. Before we started the day I decided to read a scripture to see if that would cure my mood. It was Galatians 6:9-10 I meditated on that until we got to breakfast and then I did what I normally do when I am frustrated at the world, I called my mom. I was in the hallway talking to her and I almost burst in to tears just telling her about how bad the first two days had gone and how exhausted I was. I also told her about the word from the night before and the scripture from that morning. She told me that we were doing a very selfless act by deciding to give up our spring break in order to help another campus ministry and she also said that I inspired her. I held onto those two things (she said other stuff too) for the rest of the trip and I let it calm my spirit down. Another thing that brightened my day on Wednesday was an older man that came and sang “this is the day” with us. It meant a lot that somebody actually stopped to ask how we were doing and tried to make us smile.

Wednesday evening, we attended freedom church for their mid-week worship service. BOY when I tell y’all the guest preacher was on it that night! He talked about “daring to dream.” Often times as believers we get discouraged by a ton of things in life. However, our dreams need a big God, thankfully we all serve one! It is our responsibility to cheer one another on in this life, if we don’t it will keep us from dreaming.  The five other things we talked about that keep us from dreaming are; the fear of rejection or failure, our age, feeling like you are finished dreaming, listening to the wrong folks, and quitting too early. As believers we have to remain encouraged and keep our focus on God. He will make all of our dreams come true, no matter how huge, impossible, or unreachable they may seem. Our job is just to dream and we need to let God do the rest!

I am letting this lesson fuel me as well, because I have decided to dream big this year in several areas of my life. Everytime I get slightly closer to where I need to be, something or someone {a Tobiah} is either distracting or discouraging me from it. Because I still feel discouraged, I cannot fully unlock what God has in store for me at the moment. However, I am praying and seeking Him in order to overcome.

Thank you for reading! Sorry it was so long this time, but I really wanted to share what was on my heart. Part three is coming soon! Have a blessed week and remember to DREAM!

And afterward, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your old men will dream dreams, your young men will see visions.  Even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days
~Joel 2:28-29
Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us
~Ephesians 3:20

5 thoughts on “Mission trip chronicles pt 2”

  1. I love your insight and willingness to share your vulnerability. You are a wise young woman and an inspiration to old and young alike. God has a great instrument in you. Thank you for your willingness to be used by Him. Keep on keeping that light shining! I’m so glad your mom shared your journey with me. May God’s blessings flood over you daily!

    Like

Leave a Reply

