Mission trip chronicles

Hello everyone! I hope you are all doing well! Last week I spent my spring break on two college campuses where I did a mission trip. I had a great time overall and I really want to share some of my stories with you all.

This past week, I got the chance to experience my first ever Missions trip to Florida State University and Florida A&M University. My group’s responsibility was to basically spread the word about Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship and to be friendly to college students. It was definitely not an easy task for me because I was completely out of my comfort zone {talking to strangers} and a lot of times trying new/different things makes me really anxious. Thankfully, when I got down there most of the nerves went away and surprisingly I was not really anxious.

On Monday, we did a coffee cart contact table, which was super effective, and 2 by 2 evangelism {when 2 people go out and talk to people}. I got paired up with a freshman named Ramen the first go round and I think it went well we met quite few people who wanted to talk to us and genuinely seemed interested in Chi Alpha. However, for every person that said yes to letting us talk to them we had several rejections. One in particular really stuck with me. There was a guy sitting by himself outside of the food court and Ramen initiated the conversation. The conversation was going good until we said we were a Christian group, the guy we were talking to goes “nah that’s not going to work for me I’m Jewish.” That was by far the most entertaining moment for me on the trip. I was trying so hard to hold in my laughter, one of the most entertaining parts of the trip hands down! Nonetheless, as the day progressed the entire group started to get weighed down by all of the rejections. I thought Ramen and I’s encounter with the Jewish student was bad. Nope. The entire group had a rough first few hours of trying to share Chi Alpha.

After lunch, it seemed like we were all taking Ls {losses} left and right. It was like nobody wanted to talk to us or had a couple seconds to spare or even take a flier. It was really discouraging. Then to add to the rejections we were taking, the group was under the impression that we would wrap up the coffee cart/2 by 2s by 2 that afternoon. WRONG! Me and my new partner Alex were on our way back to the table when our mission trip leader said we had a whole ‘nother hour {yes I used that word}. I felt like somebody had just pulled a mean prank on me. I did not want to go back out and hand out anymore fliers or tell anyone else about XA, I was RETAGO! But I was obedient and Alex and I spent another hour handing out fliers and telling students about Chi Alpha.

Later that night, we all got to go to core group. Core groups are small bible studies that are meant to be more intimate and provide the opportunity for people to network and learn more about God or it can also be another way to say bible study. The guys and girls had their own respectively. We did an icebreaker where we all picked a number 1 through 9 and we got a question based on our number. Then we played heads up. I had a great time that night!

So that concludes my Monday experience. I hope you all enjoyed it! I can’t wait to write about the rest of my week and share some of what God has said to me!

In every way we’re troubled, but we aren’t crushed by our troubles. We’re frustrated, but we don’t give up. We’re persecuted, but we’re not abandoned. We’re captured, but we’re not killed.  We always carry around the death of Jesus in our bodies so that the life of Jesus is also shown in our bodies. While we are alive, we are constantly handed over to death for Jesus’ sake so that the life of Jesus is also shown in our mortal nature.  Death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.

~2 Corinthians 4:8-12

 

 

Leave a Reply

