Am I really living out my purpose?

Greetings everyone! I hope that you all had a blessed and refreshing weekend. I know I did! This week I just wanted to briefly share something that I took away from a devotional time.

I downloaded the First 5 App a few weeks ago, because a friend from my old church recommended it to me. I am now in love with it! The plans are so good, I can’t even find a better word for that and everytime I read the passage that goes with it, it makes a lot more sense. But anywho, Monday night after I read my devotional for the day, I went back read through the Joshua chapter 8 in the Message and NIV translation. As I am reading the chapter conviction starts to eat at me. Last week and even the week prior I had a lot going on in my life and I did not feel the need to share that everybody. So not only do I have all this craziness in my life, it does not help that I got in an argument with a person I care about.

I was so upset with that person and it caused me to leave a groupchat. However, I did not leave the chat because she made me mad, I left the chat because I was frustrated. I was mad and frustrated that nobody was listening to anybody, people were being blatantly disrespectful to one another, on top of my long two weeks I just couldn’t take it. I needed a break. So I took one, and let me tell y’all it has been a great one. Nonetheless, {which brings me back to the conviction}, at TWMS I felt like God had called me to minister and reach out to a certain group of people on my campus. I realized that because I am not in the chat, I am basically disconnected from everyone. I cannot {effectively} encourage or invite people anywhere if I am not in the chat. Yeah I can invite via text or face to face, but everyone has different schedules and during the day my mind is in a lot of other places.

Nonetheless, I need to start fulfilling my purpose here on my university campus.  God never said I would never get frustrated with others or that this journey would be easy.

“In every way we’re troubled, but we aren’t crushed by our troubles. We’re frustrated, but we don’t give up.  We’re persecuted, but we’re not abandoned. We’re captured, but we’re not killed. We always carry around the death of Jesus in our bodies so that the life of Jesus is also shown in our bodies. While we are alive, we are constantly handed over to death for Jesus’ sake so that the life of Jesus is also shown in our mortal nature.  Death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.”

~2 Corinthians 4:8-12

 

 

2 thoughts on “Am I really living out my purpose?”

  1. Awesome Autrela!! I love the scripture you ended on also 2 Corinthians 4, about us being frustrated but not giving up. Wow that speaks directly to me in many areas. Continue to allow God to use you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

